Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Cool Stars 20.5

02/03/2021 @ 18:00 04/03/2021 @ 23:00 CET

Cool Stars 20.5 – virtually cool on March 2-4 2021 − in Memory of John Stauffer

The “Cambridge Workshops of Cool Stars, Stellar Systems and the Sun” are held biennially and have evolved to be the premier conference series for cool star research.

With the ongoing pandemic, the organizers of Cool Stars 21 consider it unlikely we will be able to meet in person in the summer of 2021. This would put a four year gap between our meetings for the first time. Therefore we have decided to hold a virtual conference to keep everyone in our field up to date. But don’t worry, we still plan to meet in Toulouse in mid-2022.

The Cambridge Workshop on Cool Stars, Stellar Systems, and the Sun (“Cool Stars”) has been running for 40 years. The first workshop was held in Cambridge, Massachusetts in 1980. Since then, Cool Stars has been held largely biennially, alternating between North America and Europe, where approximately 400 international experts in Low-Mass Stars, Solar Physics, and Exoplanets meet to exchange ideas in a cross-disciplinary and friendly environment.

For more information, visit the event’s web page at


  • Silvia Alencar – Federal University of Minas Gerais
  • Myriam Benisty – Institut de Planétologie et d’Astrophysique de Grenoble
  • Jérôme Bouvier (SOC co-chair) – Institut de Planétologie et d’Astrophysique de Grenoble
  • Allan Sacha Brun (SOC chair) – CEA Saclay
  • Corinne Charbonnel – Geneva Observatory
  • Marc DeRosa – Lockheed Martin Solar and Astrophysics Laboratory
  • Andrea Dupree – Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
  • Luca Fossati – Austrian Academy of Sciences
  • Laurent Gizon – Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research
  • Gregory Herczeg – KIAA / Peking University
  • Lynne Hillenbrand – California Institute of Technology
  • Miho Janvier – IAS / University of Paris-Sud
  • Moira Jardine – University of Saint Andrews
  • Carme Jordi – University of Barcelona
  • Elena Khomenko – Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias
  • Heidi Korhonen – European Southern Observatory
  • Ágnes Kóspál – Konkoly Observatory
  • Sean Matt – University of Exeter
  • Pascal Petit (LOC chair) – Institut de Recherche en Astrophysique et Planétologie
  • Sofia Randich – INAF / Arcetri Astrophysical Observatory
  • Rachael Roettenbacher – Yale University
  • Alexis Rouillard – Institut de Recherche en Astrophysique et Planétologie
  • Klaus Strassmeier – Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam
  • Takeru Suzuki – University of Tokyo
  • Adriana Valio – Mackenzie Presbyterian University
  • Scott Wolk – Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics